Upon completion of this module, students will be able to:

  1. Define and classify torts
  2. Define the term “Intentional tort”
  3. Define unintentional torts and describe the elements necessary to prove negligence
  4. Define strict liability in torts
  5. Describe the process of civil litigation
  6. Identify at least two alternatives to civil litigation for settling disputes. 

Now that you have a basis for the learning process, we can get into the meat of the course. We begin with “Torts” – not the type that you eat, (although that might be a good thing to do while you study the course materials) but the classification of civil wrongs which people (and sometimes animals) commit. They are “civil wrongs.” Torts can be intentional, such as assault, battery, and infliction of emotional distress. They can also be unintentional, or as a result of negligence. In order to prove Negligence, you must show that a defendant had a DUTY to act in a certain way, that she BREACHED that duty, and that the BREACH caused INJURY to the Plaintiff. Many people also include MONEY in these four elements of negligent torts. It really makes no sense to sue somebody if there is no money involved. (I wouldn’t lie to you…I am a lawyer J.) We will continue in this study by learning the process of civil litigation. You will get the opportunity to prove your familiarity with that process later.

Last modified: Tuesday, January 3, 2017, 12:24 PM